Strategic Policy Panel

Our Strategic Policy Panel (SPP) is a sub-committee of the Governing Board, which aims to:

  • Provide strategic leadership on the development and delivery of our policy positions and activities.
  • Provide strategic horizon-scanning and monitoring of external issues relevant to our work to identify areas of policy that we need to be proactive in.
  • Provide strategic oversight for partnerships and liaise with appropriate bodies in England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland, the Republic of Ireland, Europe and internationally.
  • Guide, independently or with other organisations, responses to UK, Irish, European and international policy issues, through consultation responses, for example.
  • Guide the publishing of our reports and/or position briefings that inform policy-making and the public.
  • Guide the organisation of, or participation in, relevant meetings and events that communicate ecological science and practice to public and policy audiences.
  • Ensure that our views concerning relevant policy issues are represented to government, other bodies and the public.
  • Ensure that we are recognised by relevant external stakeholders as the voice of the profession.


There are a number of groups that report to the Strategic Policy Panel:

Current members of the SPP

Stephanie Wray CEcol CEnv FCIEEM (Chair)
Julie Bhatti CEnv MCIEEM
Helen Evriviades MCIEEM
Paul Goriup CEcol CEnv FCIEEM
Martyn Kelly CEcol CEnv FCIEEM
Ben Kite CEcol MCIEEM
Brandon Murray MCIEEM
Malcom Robertson CEnv MCIEEM
Peter Shepherd MCIEEM
Bill Wadsworth CEnv MCIEEM
Mike Willis CEcol FCIEEM

For more information on the SPP please contact