Government publishes schedule of retained EU law

The UK Government yesterday published the list of EU laws that will be revoked (or sunset) by 31 December 2023.

The list includes nearly 600 laws to be revoked at the end of the year, including 341 laws allocated to Defra.

Mostly the laws that are to be revoked are already obsolete or have been superceded by newer legislation.

Whilst this list contains no alarming inclusions, the broader issue remains with the Retained EU Law Bill that, going forward, it would still give ministers the powers to revoke and review EU-derived laws without parliamentary scrutiny.