Chair and members put forward for Environmental Standards Scotland

The Scottish Government has announced its intention to recommend the former Scottish Public Services Ombudsman, Jim Martin, as Chair of Scotland’s new environmental body, Environmental Standards Scotland (ESS).

It is proposed that the Chair will be supported by four other members with experience of the environment sector and its regulatory frameworks.

When fully established as a statutory body, ESS’s proposed remit is to monitor and investigate public authorities’ compliance with environmental law, the ‘effectiveness’ of environmental law and how it is implemented and applied. It will also enforce environmental law by taking the steps it considers appropriate to secure public authorities’ compliance.

The other four members being put forward to the Scottish Parliament for agreement are Paul McAleavey, Richard Dixon, Marie Fallon and Annalisa Savaresi.