New Scottish Cabinet Announced

Scottish First Minister, Nicola Sturgeon, has announced her new Cabinet following the recent election.

Two new posts have been created to deliver for nature and climate: the Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero, Energy and Climate, with the role given to Michael Matheson, and Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs and Islands, which Former Minister for Rural Affairs and the Natural Environment Mairi Gougeon will take up.

The Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero, Energy and Climate will bring together cross government responsibility for coordination of Net Zero policy, encompassing transport, environmental protection, energy and COP26 delivery. Meanwhile, the Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs and Islands will be responsible for agriculture, food and drink policy, fisheries and aquaculture.

The full Cabinet is as follows:

  • Nicola Sturgeon – First Minister
  • John Swinney – Deputy First Minister
  • Kate Forbes – Cabinet Secretary for Finance and the Economy
  • Humza Yousaf – Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Care
  • Shirley-Anne Somerville – Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills
  • Michael Matheson – Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero, Energy and Transport
  • Keith Brown – Cabinet Secretary for Justice
  • Shona Robison – Cabinet Secretary for Social Justice, Housing and Local Government
  • Angus Robertson – Cabinet Secretary for the Constitution, External Affairs and Culture
  • Mairi Gougeon – Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs and Islands.

Junior Minister roles have also been announced, with Mairi McAllan taking the role of Minister for Environment, Biodiversity and Land Reform. Ms McAllan was previously part of Ms Sturgeon’s team of special advisers. This post will sit under Michael Matheson as Cabinet secretary for Net Zero, Energy and Transport. Graeme Dey has been appointed Minister for Transport. This role will however be split between Michael Matheson and Mairi Gougeon.